“When Kings of Leon promotes their new album as the first album released as an NFT? Ploy for relevance. When electronic producer Clarian beats them to it? I’ll allow it.”
New York Magazine’s Vulture

“Respected Canadian producer, DJ and musician Clarian beat [Kings of Leon] to the punch and put up his new album Whale Shark for auction as a rare one-off NFT one day earlier – officially becoming the first music artist to release a new album on this format.”

[Whale Shark is] “a 12-track outing in dark-wave synth pop”

“Left-field artist Clarian seems to have beaten Kings Of Leon to the punch.”
CLASH Magazine


Visionary artist Clarian announced the first NFT Music Album Auction ever, ahead of Kings of Leon, via The Golden Spoon on peer-to-peer marketplace OpenSea, March 4th, 2021. Issuing a challenge to the control that streaming giants such as Spotify have established, Clarian is betting he will sell his aptly titled new album Whale Shark for nothing less than 100 Ether. On the album, listeners will find the noteworthy single ‘Strange Vibrations’. Up for auction is the one and only authentic copy of the album with the publishing rights included as an NFT. The auction ends March 20, 2021, at 4 AM GMT with the Electronic Music Community and Culture (EMC^2) room, on the Clubhouse messaging app, hosting the final album auction countdown.

The exchange of this artifact sends a powerful message and empowers a music industry in need of technological liberation. This is the first of its kind as a purchase of music content on Blockchain, adding a deeper value of significance and responsibility to the bearer.

NFTs, or non-fungible tokens, are a new type of digital asset. Recorded on a secure digital ledger known as “Blockchain” each NFT represents a unique collector’s item that can’t be duplicated and, therefore, extremely rare. Decentralized Blockchain and NFT technology will lead the way to a much-needed music and art revolution and it’s already starting to happen. Clarian believes that the sale of this NFT can empower an entire generation by restoring life and freedom back to the music industry.

Over the years, Clarian has been featured and acclaimed in places such as Rolling Stone, Sonar Festival, New York Magazine’s Vulture, The Guardian, Mixmag, CLASH Magazine, XLR8R, Magnetic Magazine  BBC Radio, for his unique electronic surrealism, and has worked in the shadows as an engineer and songwriter for underground heroes and Grammy-nominated artists alike.

Whale Shark is a collection of dark, woozy, synth-pop tracks underpinned by solid songwriting. Each track offers a unique adventure into the cool, subaquatic world of Whale Shark accompanied by surreal vocals that bubble to the surface of the enchanting experimental production. The dark wave stylings of the album call to mind the likes of Gary Numan, Wild Nothing, Bauhaus and Steve Strange – creating an homage to the new romantics movement.

Within Clarian’s lyrics for ‘Strange Vibrations’, we can find some unique insight to his mind: “I’m picking up strange vibrations; She’s going through transformations; I’m picking up strange vibrations ; In the forest light, change awaits; I’m going through transformations; In the forest light, change awaits”.


Whale Shark Tracklisting:

  1. Strange Vibrations
  2. Whale Shark
  3. Dancing In The Shadows
  4. Virtual Misery
  5. Blue Blockers
  6. Camera By The Sea
  7. The Stranger
  8. Ballad Of X
  9. Frozen
  10. Melting
  11. Memories Change
  12. Condo Generation

Share this Artist